40 Ways to serve

     If you are worshipping regularly at Cypress on Sundays (Worship Jesus), a member of Cypress and actively participating in a small group (Love One Another), then the elders and pastors strongly encourage you to start serving others (Serve the World!), particularly in a discipleship group of three or four. The following is a list of forty ways you and/or your discipleship group could serve others according to four levels of serving engagement: 


Level 1 – Mild, On Campus

Serve I-Help Men in Cypress’ Gym - Bob & Ruth Flowers, ruthannflowers@hotmail.com; 831-277-3499

Help with the Hospitality Ministry - Audrey Kile, kileklan@yahoo.com; 831-262-4758

Supply Food for Cypress’ Food Pantry - Jo Surbeck; josurbeck@gmail.com

Disciple Children through AWANA – Kylie Quidileg, kylie@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Volunteer to serve at Vacation Bible School - Kylie Quidileg, kylie@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Disciple Children on Sundays - Kylie Quidileg, kylie@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Disciple Youth (Junior High & High School) - Gabe Williams, gabe@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Disciple Young Adults – Garreth Tiefenbach, garreth@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Serve as an Usher/Greeter in the Worship Service – Dave Fortune, fortunes@comcast.net; 831-484-2141

Pack “Homeless Blessing Bags” for your car - Darius & Lisa Livian, spedaliere5@sbcglobal.net


Level 2 – Moderate, Off Campus

Serve at Salinas Warming Shelter - Michelle Chisum, thechisumfamily@gmail.com; 831-905-0677

Serve children at Family Resource Center in Salinas - Cheryl Camany, ccamany@salinascity.k12.ca.us

Feed Farm-Labor Families with Nancy’s Project - Lorrie Stiles, leftystiles@comcast.net; 831-646-8435

Read the Bible to the Elderly in a Nursing Home - Matt Mazerik, mattmazerik@gmail.com; 408-409-0589

Cuddle Volunteer Program for Infants at Natividad Hospital - Joni Sobels, jonis317@gmail.com

Volunteer at Confidence Pregnancy Center (Salinas) - Christine Morris, confidencepc@sbcglobal.net; 831-757-5500 Volunteer at Compassion Pregnancy Center (Monterey) - Tami Cripe, TamiC.cpc@gmail.com, 831-373-8535

Lunch with International Wives Connection - Sharon Treat, bobandsharont@gmail.com; 831-455-2468

Ongoing Outreach Events in Gonzales - Mark & Carol DaVee, mark@cypresschurch.org; 831-402-8926


Level 3 – Intense, Off Campus

Be a court-appointed advocate for a foster child - Linda Fosler, linda@voicesforchildrencasa.org; 831-455-6800

Serve the Homeless in Monterey on Saturday mornings - Jim Nelson, jajunels@yahoo.com; 831-4351927

Lead a Good News Club at a Public School - Dave Anderson, sandcity49@gmail.com; 831-236-2762

Serve the sick at Salinas Memorial Hospital - Shannon Graham, sgraham@svmh.com; 831-759-1801

Serve the sick as a Auxiliary Volunteer at C.H.O.M.P - Chris Williams, chriswilliams@chomp.org; 831-622-2892

Help at Seaside Women’s Shelter - Linda Nieves, lnieves@communityhomelesssolutions.org; 831-394-8372

Host International Students for a Four-Week Stint (Paid) - Chris Wilcox, chris@isphomestays.com; 831-915-5546

Go on a Short-Term Missions Trip to Unreached Peoples - Jerry Boutry, jerry@cypresschurch.org

Serve and/or Preach at Victory Mission (Men Only) – Ken Cusson, 831-775-9685

Serve and/or Preach at Dorothy’s Place (Women Only) - Kristen Jones, dorothysplace.org/volunteer


Level 4 – Extreme, Off Campus

Be a Foster Parent with Above the Line - Gail Lewis, glewis@abovetheline.org; 831-662-9081

Adopt a child through The Kinship Center - Barbara May, bmay@kinshipcenter.org; (831) 455-4740

Disciple Inmates at Soledad Correctional Training Facility - Jordan Jeske, Jordan_jeske@pfm.org; 831-383-1333

Lead a Bible study at Salinas Valley State Prison - Kent Tegtmeier, kentmeier99@comcast.net; 831-521-6264

Do Street Evangelism in Salinas - Robert Rosalez, rjrosalez@mac.com; 831-521-2838

Disciple Homeless People into Transitional Housing - Ben Sobels, ben@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Long-Term Missionary to Unreached Peoples – Jerry Boutry, jerry@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Be Trained as a Pastor and Plant a Church - Ben Sobels, ben@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Serve on a Cypress Church Planting Team - Mark DaVee, mark@cypresschurch.org; 831-484-2141

Lead a ministry that spreads the gospel and serves “the least of these” as the Lord leads you!